Author Topic: Oddball Barrel Question  (Read 5752 times)

Sprit_Sailor

Oddball Barrel Question
« on: April 08, 2009, 02:26:28 AM »
Hey everyone, this is my first post here - great site by the way, and very informative... I've been an avid black powder shooter for many years, but I'm just getting into the building aspect of things and I've got one question...

Now, I don't mean to offend any traditionalists, but is there any way of obtaining a barrel with Whitworth's hexagonal rifling?

Most of my black powder shooting experience has been with various forms of reenacting, and having shot everything from a small .36 pocket pistol on up to the 32 pounder of Shepherd's Battery at Fort Fisher, NC, I've become impressed with the accuracy of the whitworth barrel. Anyway, like I said, I don't want to offend any traditionalists, I was just curious if this kind of rifling is obtainable for rifle builders...

Offline Blacksmoke

• "Old age and treachery beats youth and skill"
Re: Oddball Barrel Question
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2009, 02:41:05 AM »
Sprit-Sailor, Genuine Whitworth rifling is a hexagonal bore that takes a hollowbase hexagonal bullet. It was popular during the great international rifle matches of the late 1800's.  I 've been rifling round ball barrels for about 30 yrs. now but have never run into anyone who is cutting Whitwoth rifling.  Then there is the problem of getting a mold cut to make the bullets to fit the bore.  I toyed with the idea once but gave it up for lack of interest and cost of "tooling up".        Hugh Toenjes
H.T.

Sprit_Sailor

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2009, 02:54:29 AM »
I can imagine the tooling to cut such rifling would only make it worth the price of admission for guarenteed bulk orders - not likely to happen outside of the actual whitworth rifle pattern from companies like euroarms. It still makes for an interesting concept though (if only in my own little dreamworld) ;D

Thanks for the response though.

Offline Blacksmoke