Author Topic: Hand Polishing Brass  (Read 6825 times)

CavSoldier3ACR

Hand Polishing Brass
« on: May 22, 2017, 06:28:49 AM »
All,

I am a United States Soldier stationed in Central America.  I am building a Virginia style flintlock and I need some advice on polishing brass.  I was only able to bring my hand tools so I have been without the benefit of some of my electric tools at home, such as a drill press or polishing wheel on a grinder.  How would you suggest I polish brass and steel parts with only access to basic supplies.  I think I can get hold of some Emory cloth but not sure of anything else besides sand paper.  Any suggestions?

Offline Daryl

Re: Hand Polishing Brass
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2017, 06:30:34 AM »
Is it possible to obtain crocus cloth?  Via mail?  Someone here could/would mail you some, I'm sure.
tks for your service!
Daryl

"a gun without hammers is like a spaniel without ears" King George V

Offline mtlonghunter

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2017, 06:48:37 AM »
Do you have a burnisher?

Offline jerrywh

• Jerrywh-gunmaker- Master  Engraver FEGA.
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2017, 08:56:25 AM »
 I never use anything but fine  sand paper and files.
Nobody is always correct, Not even me.

Offline Bill Raby

« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2017, 09:23:08 AM »
   Go to the finest sandpaper that you can get. If you can get get your hands on some polishing compound, rub it onto a rag and polish with that. If you cannot get polishing compound, try toothpaste.

Offline thecapgunkid

• Matthew 25:40
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2017, 12:36:53 PM »
What kinds of things could we send you and what kinds of things can't we send you?  If you have files, do you have a little cleaning board to keep 'em up?  Do you need the various grades of emery and sand paper?

Don't shoot yore eye out, kid
The Capgun Kid

Offline flehto

« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2017, 02:22:29 PM »