Author Topic: Iron mounted double rifle  (Read 2197 times)

Offline Mark Elliott

• Mark Elliott  Artist & Craftsman
Iron mounted double rifle
« on: April 08, 2020, 06:46:09 PM »
This is another post for Dick Gadler.

"This is a huge iron mounted double rifle with unknown provenience....

Furniture is all iron.
Trigger guard is all least two pieces with the bow pinned on to guard and welded.
Caliber of rifled barrel is about .55 cal.
There are no marks anywhere on the piece.
Rifle was found in a Southern California collection out in Palm Springs.
Photos are courtesy of Bill Paton.
Weight is about 14 pounds."

Offline Tanselman

• member 2
Re: Iron mounted double rifle
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2020, 07:34:43 PM »
Not the prettiest gun I've ever seen, but it has one of the finest pieces of curled maple ever used in a gun stock. Butt architecture and stock wood suggest an eastern Kentucky rifle maker, probably a transplant to the west coast. While I have no knowledge of who made this interesting gun, the stock architecture (and assumption it was made by a transplanted eastern gunsmith) makes me think one reasonable possibility is one of the Kelsey gunsmiths of Kelseyville in Lake County, CA. The extended "family" migrated from Tennessee to Kentucky and then through Missouri to California, with several Kelsey gunsmiths arriving in CA in the 1850s. Their butts looked somewhat similar, and they liked good curly maple...and a couple members made iron mounted guns. But I have not seen this particular guard  on any of their rifles.

Shelby Galien
« Last Edit: April 10, 2020, 01:46:04 AM by Tanselman »

Offline Hungry Horse

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2020, 05:24:31 PM »