Author Topic: Keeping FFF in the barrel  (Read 3108 times)

Lori Ann

Keeping FFF in the barrel
« on: April 28, 2020, 12:13:29 AM »
Hello, I just started shooting fff Swiss in my gun it’s very accurate. When carrying the gun for hunting I loose powder out the touch hole. Does anyone have a trick to keep the powder in the barrel. When I shoot it after carrying it for a few days I get a hang fire. Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks, Gary

Offline T*O*F

Re: Keeping FFF in the barrel
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2020, 12:16:49 AM »
Your touch hole is too big.  When it starts self-priming, it's time to replace it.
Dave Kanger

If religion is opium for the masses, the internet is a crack, pixel-huffing orgy that deafens the brain, numbs the senses and scrambles our peer list to include every anonymous loser, twisted deviant, and freak as well as people we normally wouldn't give the time of day.
-S.M. Tomlinson

Offline MuskratMike

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2020, 01:30:16 AM »
I shoot nothing but 3F in everything fron .40 to .54 and have never experienced "self" priming. I however use Goex not Swiss but agree your vent hole may be too large.
"Muskrat" Mike McGuire
Keep your eyes on the skyline, your flint sharp and powder dry.

Offline P.Bigham

« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2020, 03:06:46 AM »
Toothpick
" not all who wander are lost"

Offline Notchy Bob

« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2020, 03:18:12 AM »
I think old-timers used a small feather in the touch hole to keep it from leaking powder, and to keep moisture out.  Touch hole feathers and "feather holes" in the stock were covered pretty extensively on this forum a few months ago.  You can probably do a search and find it.

If you are leaving your rifle loaded for several days, I might suggest moisture in the powder may contribute to the problem, although, as I think you are suggesting, a train of powder in the flash channel can serve as a "fuse" and thus delay ignition, also.