Author Topic: Best way to collect lead for round balls?  (Read 1613 times)

Offline MicahKautchick

• Starting Member
Best way to collect lead for round balls?
« on: May 14, 2021, 12:28:42 AM »
I was thinking of sifting for range lead at my local shooting range. Wheel weights would be good too but are wheel weights made from lead still common? I have no experience with lead casting anything, just looking for advice.

Offline Fyrstyk

• "All I ask of living is to have no chains on me."
Re: Best way to collect lead for round balls?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2021, 12:44:02 AM »
I would think that most of the "lead" you would recover from sifting a shooting backstop will be hard cast lead used for pistol pullets.  Muzzle loaders shoot best with soft, pure, lead.  I have found the best sources of soft lead is from roofing contractors.  When they strip a house of its existing shingles there sometimes in lead flashing that is also removed.  Lead flashing is very soft, almost pure lead.  It requires some cleaning, but the final product will be good for casting lead balls for your muzzle loader.

Offline Gemmer

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2021, 01:30:07 AM »
I avoid the hassle and buy pure soft lead from “RotoMetals".

Offline Hungry Horse

« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2021, 01:50:38 AM »
Talk to your local recycler. Often they will happily sell you lead at the same price they get for it, or a little more. Roof flashings, plumbers lead, diving weights, leaded glass cane, and keels off of sailboats are all good sources. IMHO buying new is the last resort.

Hungry Horse

Offline walks with gun

« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2021, 03:41:44 PM »
   I buy most of my pure lead from scrapyards, sheets, rolls ( for stained glass) and old lead pipe, by far the cheapest way.  I've found some at garage sales and by putting the word out through friends and family that I'm looking.

Offline Daryl

« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2021, 06:56:26 PM »