Author Topic: Name on gun  (Read 1277 times)

Offline Hrobert5

• Starting Member
Name on gun
« on: May 03, 2023, 03:17:38 PM »
First of all I’m new to the page. Thanks for letting me join. I am a gunsmith who normally works on modern weapons. However, I recently had a customer bring in what was obviously a very old long rifle he wanted “cleaned up” to pass down to his grandson. It is percussion, half stocked, and has a makers name on the top of the barrel. I wonder if anyone recognizes the name. Thanks for any help. I’m not being paid for this. Just doing a favor for an old friend of my dads.

Offline Longknife

Re: Name on gun
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2023, 04:31:23 PM »
Hrobert, welcome to the forum! If you could post more pictures of the rifle I'm sure someone could narrow down where it was made and possibly ID the maker....LK
Ed Hamberg

Offline Daniel Coats

« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2023, 04:55:26 PM »
Welcome to the forum!

Describe what you mean by "cleaned up" please. A 10K gun can be turned into a 1K gun quicker than you can say sandpaper.
Dan

"Ain't no nipples on a man's rifle"

Online brushyspoons

• Starting Member
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2023, 05:26:42 PM »
I am still new to longrifles so I’ll frame my post as a question rather than an answer: does that signature look like “Selvidge” to anyone else? One of his rifles is featured in Randall Pierce’s book and the script looks similar to my eyes.
Phil A.

Online rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2023, 06:40:25 PM »
I am still new to longrifles so I’ll frame my post as a question rather than an answer: does that signature look like “Selvidge” to anyone else? One of his rifles is featured in Randall Pierce’s book and the script looks similar to my eyes.

Yes!
Andover, Vermont

Offline Hrobert5

• Starting Member
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2023, 07:02:09 PM »
Welcome to the forum!