Author Topic: Better than a Foredom or a Dremel....IMHO  (Read 1257 times)

Offline davec2

• The Lucky Bag
Better than a Foredom or a Dremel....IMHO
« on: May 24, 2023, 07:01:03 AM »
 I didn't want to hijack the recent post about a Foredom.  I had one and used it, on and off, for years before I gave it away.  I did the same thing with a Dremel.  I suppose it all comes down to what you are used to.  I was 6 or 7 years old when I started to work for my dad in his dental lab.  I started doing partials....and then dentures....and then crown and bridge work.  Through all of that I used an Emesco dental engine with a Wells dental handpiece attached.  It looked like the pictures below and is a belt driven, rheostat controlled, fully articulated arm.  The handpiece is very slim, fits easily in the hand, and uses any 3/32" burr, wheel, disk, etc.  Since I started with this at the tender age of 6, I have been using one almost continuously for 64 years.  (I even took one aboard ship with me when I was deployed overseas on a destroyer and used it to fix a missile launcher and adjust the bite on a crown that the chief of staff had done on the carrier.)  The slender handpiece allows graceful dexterity with the tool.  I have several of these.  I recently took a look on ebay and they can often be had .....sometimes complete.....sometimes in pieces....but pieces can be reassembled into a working unit and I have put together several for friends over the years from piece parts.  Hundreds, if not thousands, of different cutting, polishing, burnishing, drilling, grinding, etc., burs and wheels are available from many sources.  In addition to Emesco, Buffalo Electric also made a comparable unit if you are searching for old, used units.  New ones are available from Wells Dental Inc., but new they are quite pricey.  Used ones can be had for a lot less.  Not to detract from Foredom or Dremel at all, but I personally find this type of handpiece infinitely more useful and easier to use.  I s