Author Topic: Lead Shot Alternative  (Read 1719 times)

Offline Greg Pennell

Lead Shot Alternative
« on: February 21, 2024, 04:54:47 AM »
Friends, I have a question for some of the more experienced smoothbore shooters.  A friend just contacted me today, asking about using alternative “lead free” shot in his flintlock fowling piece. He’s considering using it for turkey loads, based on the reputation that it has for making denser patterns. He’s shooting a 20 gauge (don’t know the manufacturer, but it’s a relatively recent piece), and I’m sure it’s cylinder bore.

Does the group have knowledge/opinions/experience with these types of shot (tungsten, polymer, Hevi-shot, etc.)?  I have ZERO experience, and don’t want to give bad advice.

Thanks,
Greg
“Let your gun therefore be the constant companion of your walks” Thomas Jefferson

Offline snapper

Re: Lead Shot Alternative
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2024, 05:30:57 AM »
I use bismuth.  Ballistic Products carry's it.  It is not cheap, but for hunting, I dont use that much in a year.

Fleener
My taste are simple:  I am easily satisfied with the best.  Winston Churchill

Offline snapper

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2024, 05:39:10 AM »
Pulled from their website:

Fleener

Overall Pellet Softness: Bismuth is the softest metal of all available non-toxic shot types. Bismuth is much softer than any barrel iron and steel shotgun barrels. Therefore it is the non-toxic shot that is easiest on your fine shotgun.
Sizes: We stock sizes for a wide range of game; from heavy goose loads down to upland loads.
Bismuth shot hits like lead shot, but won't harm barrels and chokes, which means that it is ideal for use as a non-toxic shot in fine double-barrel shotguns, smallbore shotguns and any other shotguns with fixed chokes. Care and proper loading techniques must be observed in order to load bismuth shot effectively. Follow BPI load data for your best bismuth performance.