Author Topic: Fowler gear  (Read 506 times)

Offline foresterdj

Fowler gear
« on: October 03, 2024, 07:17:04 AM »
My winter project is a Kibler fowler. I have never used a Fowler before. My question is to those who hunt with their fowler.

What do you carry and how do you organize it for efficient reloading?

For my rifles, and most of this would apply I am sure, I carry a few cleaning patches, a tin with jags, worm, ball puller and a couple spare flints. Powder measure, small priming horn a vent pick and a screw driver. Of course also a powder horn, and round balls and patches. When deer hunting I will have some of the little tubes with pre measured charge and a loading block with patched round balls.

To this the Fowler seems to add a variety of cards and wads some lubed some dry. Seems like hunting bag starting to get a confusing bunch of items in it to pull out in proper order for reloading.

So, what do you carry for Fowler hunting and how do you carry it?

Offline Pukka Bundook

Re: Fowler gear
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2024, 04:19:41 PM »

All very simple.
Wads in lower weskit pocket, caps in top weskit pocket,
Bit of copper wire attached to buttonhole.  (to prick nipple or touchhole)
a short turnscrew in a side pocket.
Powder flask with measure and fireproof top in a jacket side pocket with a flap to keepsparks out.
couple of flints in waistcoat other side top pocket if flint required.
The ramrod should have a cap that unscrews to reveal a worm for cleaning with tow, or pulling a charge.
on older guns, a bare tow worm was often on the other end of the rammer.

a couple of shot chargers could be carried in another pocket carrying a different size to the shot flask.
(See other photo)

Offline Tony N

• Rabbit Hash,Ky
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2024, 06:50:24 PM »

All very simple.
Wads in lower weskit pocket, caps in top weskit pocket,
Bit of copper wire attached to buttonhole.  (to prick nipple or touchhole)
a short turnscrew in a side pocket.