Author Topic: Is this a Samuel Morrison Flintlock  (Read 10897 times)

jimsjunk

Is this a Samuel Morrison Flintlock
« on: April 29, 2012, 06:21:03 PM »
Hello All,
I am new to the forum.  Looking for information on a flintlock I just picked up.  I believe it may be a Samuel Morrison, upper Susquehanna style rifle.  Please see pictures by following link to my photobucket album.
Any info would be appreciated.  I had been chasing after this flintlock for 20+ years, finally able to close the deal.  Also under different topic a question on J Edmonds.
Thank You
Jim

this link to the album
http://s143.photobucket.com/albums/r147/jimsgunsandengraving/morrison/

Offline nord

Re: Is this a Samuel Morrison Flintlock
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2012, 07:47:48 PM »
Jim,

Signature, patchbox, and general appearance lead me to believe that Morrison is correct. There are some issues however:

Without any doubt in my mind the barrel has been cut at the breach end. This moved the signature far to the rear of where it would normally reside.

I further suspect a replaced lock as the relief around the present plate is not at all up to what I've come to expect from Morrison.

If you combine these two details it then becomes highly questionable (to me anyway) whether the gun was made as a flint lock rifle. I would heavily suspect a conversion and I'd further lean toward an original mule ear.

Look at the area just above and to the rear of the hammer and you'll see an area that at some point was cut away to accommodate the present system. Also note the fit of the lock into the mortice. These are clues that bear examination.

And if I'm correct, then sort of a shame as I really like the mule ears. I have a Morrison similar to this rifle. It's listed in our library and I urge you to compare yours and mine. I envy your strong signature as mine was so light that I thought the rifle unsigned for many years.

And, by the way... Yours is a nice rifle!