Author Topic: Gongs and Steel Targets  (Read 6493 times)

John Morris

Gongs and Steel Targets
« on: July 26, 2020, 05:45:04 PM »
Does anyone have a good source for gongs and targets? I've been finding that all is out there are the AR500 steel and they are asking quite a bit, even on Ebay.
If there is not a good source, I have been in touch with a seller on Ebay that would like to work with the BP community and make gongs and targets from A35 steel, less expensive, but since I am pretty new at this, I am not sure what size targets at what steel thickness are useful for the community.

Anyone have any suggestions I could pass on to the metal man target creator guy?

Offline Hungry Horse

Re: Gongs and Steel Targets
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2020, 06:48:35 PM »
A lot depends on how many shooters are going to be hammering these targets. If the club is small, and doesn’t host giant events mild steel will work fine. My clubs targets are predominantly mild steel of about 3/8” thickness. We don’t have a ton of shooters, and don’t host big events, so this works fine. The other down side of AR plate is it tends to fail when attachment nuts, or rings, are welded to the back of them. Getting good penetration on AR isn’t something most hobby welders can achieve.

Hungry Horse

John Morris

« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2020, 07:04:35 PM »
Thanks for the feedback, so mild steel and 3/8" as a general rule.
How about size? 8" diameter and above? I think I read somewhere in these forums that anything below 8" isn't of much use to us?

Offline Hungry Horse

« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2020, 08:54:39 PM »
Maybe for city slickers that require constant emotional reinforcement, but in my neck of the woods we will pretty much shoot at anything within reasonable range. If targets are all easy pleasy it’ll take forever to shoot all the tie breakers.

Hungry Horse

Offline Bob McBride

• TENNESSEE
    • Black Powder TV
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2020, 08:56:36 PM »