Author Topic: My new/old 54 GPR, Mutt  (Read 2718 times)

Offline JohnB

• Starting Member
My new/old 54 GPR, Mutt
« on: April 17, 2023, 07:52:55 PM »
First post, I've been hanging out for awhile and reading but haven't participated yet. I've been doing black powder stuff for over 20 years, mostly percussion revolvers. I've played around with a couple of in-lines but always wanted to get a sidelock/traditional black powder rifle. About 10 or 11 years ago I traded a .31 pocket pistol for a .54 cal lyman GPR barrel and then bought a stock and intended to buy parts and "build" the rifle, but then life gets you busy and the project sits awhile.

Since then I've acquired a part here and there, (trigger, tang, lock, ramrod) and recently when I heard that Lyman was going to stop production on the great plains I decided that I needed to find the rest of the stuff and get it built, (I figured now or never). so I got the trigger guard, escutcheons, barrel wedges, and most of the screws I needed to properly mount everything in the stock. (Also rooted through the wood screw box out in the barn to find the other screws I needed.)

So now she's fully assembled, her name is mutt. The barrel proof mark is AN, which I think places the year of manufacture at 1985. And I shot 4 shots today, the first shots fired from that barrel in who knows how long (at least 11years). I don't know if she's a tack driver yet, don't know what load she likes, but it takes 5-6 hammer strikes to set off the cap on each shot. The nipple came installed in the barrel and I'm thinking it may be peened out from dryfires (not me, maybe in the barrels previous life). So I've got a new nipple ordered from TOTW.

I like old stuff so giving a traded barrel a new life is just fun for me (I know there is no nipple on the rifle in the pictures, I didn't reinstall after cleaning since I'm replacing it anyway)

Online Daryl

Re: My new/old 54 GPR, Mutt
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2023, 07:59:39 PM »