Author Topic: Round bottom for Long Range  (Read 1825 times)

Offline Vaquero

Round bottom for Long Range
« on: June 28, 2023, 08:54:54 PM »
Hey everyone,

I’m looking to get a 50 caliber fast twist barrel (1-24”) for long distance shooting, and hunting. I have no experience with heavy grain conicals, I only shoot flintlock with patched roundball. Looking to possibly get a barrel from Oregon Rifle works, but I was told that they do not offer square bottom rifling.
For those who have experience, would that be an issue?
Thinking of getting the bore size to be .500, with a groove diameter of .510.

Thanks for your help,
Davison

Offline snapper

Re: Round bottom for Long Range
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2023, 09:54:25 PM »
What do you consider long range?

Fleener
My taste are simple:  I am easily satisfied with the best.  Winston Churchill

Offline Hungry Horse

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2023, 10:03:18 PM »
 It sounds like this gun will be “conical specific” and “long range specific” if it were mine, given those parameters I would opt for a square rifling, and a gain twist. And I would not cut the rifling overly deep. I also would consult some of the better barrel makers who are familiar with said bullets, range, and twist.

Hungry Horse

Offline Scota4570

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2023, 10:14:39 PM »
A bullet barrel with RB rifling??  It does not sound like they understand how to make a bullet barrel. 

My experience with RB rifling was terrible accuracy.  I think that was because the grooves were narrow and to deep.  No loadable combination made a seal. 

I have also had a square bottom barrel that shot very poorly.  The grooves were deep and narrow.  No loadable combination made a seal. 

I do not think it is that RB rifling can not work.  I think that excessively deep rifling and narrow grooves do not work.  Unfortunately,  the RB barrels I am familiar with are made that way.

If a ML rifle/barrel can not shoot 1" or better at 50 yards I get rid of it.