Author Topic: Help in verifying Tower Brown Bess  (Read 1736 times)

Offline Docbooks222

• Starting Member
Help in verifying Tower Brown Bess
« on: June 03, 2024, 12:19:16 AM »
Newbie here, so forgive my lack of knowledge about this rifle. I inherited this from a reenactor that used it in the 1970's. I would like to sell it, but I'm not sure about a few things.
1) is it even worth anything or should I just put it back in the closet.
2) if it is worth something, can anyone give an idea of its value?
3) depending on any of the opinions to questions 1 & 2, where would it a good place to sell it...here perhaps?
Thanks in advance,
Jim in Leesburg, fl

« Last Edit: June 03, 2024, 12:26:52 AM by Docbooks222 »

Offline Clark Badgett

• Oklahoma
Re: Help in verifying Tower Brown Bess
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2024, 12:32:22 AM »
What does it say on the side of the barrel?
Psalms 144

Offline Docbooks222

• Starting Member
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2024, 12:38:00 AM »
It's bit hard to make out, but it looks like "DIXll GUN WOI K S 680"

Offline Docbooks222

• Starting Member
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2024, 12:39:54 AM »
Also, I did see on the top of the barrel "JAPAN" which I guess is probably not a good thing....

Offline Hungry Horse

« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2024, 12:54:05 AM »
It’s a Brown Bess imported by several companies. They were pretty good quality, but that doesn’t mean much when the gun is as rusted, and neglected, as that one appears to be. I’ve found re-enactors rarely take good care of their firearms since they are primarily noise maker.

Hungry Horse

Offline Docbooks222

• Starting Member
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2024, 12:58:34 AM »
Thanks for the info....back into the furthest corner of the closet it goes :-\

Offline Clark Badgett

• Oklahoma
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2024, 01:31:53 AM »
Thanks for the info....back into the furthest corner of the closet it goes :-\
Clean it up and shoot it.
Psalms 144

Offline smart dog

• Global Moderator